New Music: Tom Waits – Bad As Me

Real Gone was the last album to wholly contain original Tom Waits music. And it also housed one of my all-time favourite Waits tracks: ‘Green Grass’.

‘Green Grass’

This was seven long years ago.

Of course there was the unforgettable and career defining triple-album Orphans: Brawlers, Bawlers and Bastards, which contained rare and unreleased material. But after that, Mr. Waits floated nonchalantly up into the actorsphere; where he landed roles in The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus and The Monster of Nix, that gravelly growl a perfect tool for acting.

And now, finally, Tom Waits will release his new album Bad As Me on October 24th by way of Anti- Records.

Check out a rather hilarious video of Thomas hosting a “private listening party” below, which is simply a blinkered commentary on internet piracy. This is why we love the man.

Bad As Me Tracklist:

01 Chicago

02 Raised Right Men

03 Talking at the Same Time

04 Get Lost

05 Face to the Highway

06 Pay Me

07 Back in the Crowd

08 Bad as Me

09 Kiss Me

10 Satisfied

11 Last Leaf

12 Hell Broke Luce

13 New Year’s Eve

14 She Stole the Blush *

15 Tell Me *

16 After You Die *

* deluxe edition bonus tracks

-James Godwin, August 24th, 2011

Copyright © 2011. Informal Flick-Thru. All rights reserved.