video: Youth Lagoon – ‘Posters’



A phantasmagorical fan-made video for the opening track on Youth Lagoon’s début album The Year Of Hibernation, made by Chambers vs Dolph. Check out the video below, and Youth Lagoon’s American tour dates throughout November.

The footage comes courtesy of the French 1973 animation La Planète Sauvage, which details a futuristic story that takes place on a far off planet where giants rule, and oppressed humanoids rebel against the machine-like leaders.

22-year-old student Trevor Powers is my favourite musician and The Year Of Hibernation is easily my favourite record at the moment. It captures the essence of childhood nostalgia perfectly in both sound and sense.

In ‘Posters’ Powers sings “When I was only nine years old/I had a poster/And with that alone I had the education/The motivation/I knew what I wanted to be”, and as the album progresses, so does his age and as a result his perspective on reality: “When I was seventeen/My mother said to me don’t stop imagining/The day that you do is the day that you die.” The way each track rouses to an uplifting and deafening climax, compliments that childlike feeling of endless optimism.

November Tour Dates:

11/01: Bottom of the Hill, San Francisco CA **

11/02: The Echo, Los Angeles CA **

11/03: The Casbah, San Diego CA **

11/04: Crescent Ballroom, Phoenix AZ **

11/05: Solar Culture, Tucson AZ **

11/07: Emo’s, Austin TX **

11/08: Dan’s Silverleaf, Denton TX

11/10: The Basement, Nashville TN

Previously:

Cannons

July

Bobby (Bonus Track)

Stream The Year Of Hibernation over at SPIN and on Spotify.


-James Godwin, September 30th, 2011

Copyright © 2011. Informal Flick-Thru. All rights reserved.
