video: Sigur Ros – ‘Ekki Múkk’

Valtari will be released on May 28th.

Q Magazine points out that the title translates to Steamroller, and according to Jonsi, this is apparently because the “the music kind of just rolls over you”.

Reputedly the album music focuses more on electronics, utilising strings and a girls’ choir, but as bassist Georg Hólm is quick to point out: “don’t worry…we haven’t made a dance record”.

There are no English lyrics.



1 Êg Anda


2 Ekki Múkk

03 Varúð

04 Rembihnûtur


5 Dauðalogn

6 Varðeldur

7 Valtari

08 Fjögur Píanó

“i really can’t remember why we started this record, i no longer know what we were trying to do back then. i do know session after session went pear-shaped, we lost focus and almost gave up…did give up for a while. but then something happened and form started to emerge, and now i can honestly say that it’s the only sigur rós record i have listened to for pleasure in my own house after we’ve finished it.” – georg

-James Godwin, March 26th, 2012