mp3: M.I.A – 27

The number of people paying their respects to Amy Winehouse is positively astral, with album sales surging astronomically in the process.

In amongst all the testimonials, is a humble tribute by M.I.A: “dedicated to all my friends that died at 27”.

Check out the mp3 below.

The singer tweeted:

“i recorded this song B4 vickileekx and never put it out. its a unfinished demo. R.I.P A.M.Y.”

Amy Winehouse was found dead yesterday afternoon in her North London home aged 27.

From the singer’s SoundCloud page:

Dedicated to all my friends that died at 27.

LYRIX

= = = = = =

said your all mouth and no brains

all rock stars go to heaven

you said you’ll be dead at 27 seven

when we drunk in a English tavern

the owner poured you the Bourbon

and you drunk your self so rotten

so he got so rich he bought a Bentley

and moved himself to Devon

/

you started dirty dancing

and you bar tended a dozen

i took you to the clinic

to get you clean but you couldn’t

said in 2 days ur 27 and and ur destiny was comin

so ur papa passed so sudden

and left you with lil somin

/

you blew that money on a mountain of drugs

and staged your self a bed in

a month later when i popped in

your still high but the winter set in

i bought you a coffee and a muffin

and you quoted me some Lenin

i wished i was that clever

but thats what kept me coming

your friendship did mean somin

but you left me for nothin

when i left, you befriended a rope

and i saw you both were hanging.


-James Godwin, July 24th, 2011

Copyright © 2011. Informal Flick-Thru. All rights reserved.